JULINA MEMORIAL SCHOOL FOR THE DEAF in ASL (american sign language)

Julina asl memorial asl school asl for the asl deaf asl
Audio-page aloud not only for people with visual impairments:
German: Deutsch
English: English



Julina Memorial School for the Deaf

Julina School for the Deaf was founded in 2005, by Father John-Paul Jjumba (the chaplain of the Catholic Social Institute in Bad Honnef, Germany). The School which is in his parents home was founded in memory of his late mother Juliet Nakiyingi.

The school is open to all deaf children, regardless of ideology and religion.

The goal of Father John-Paul's School is to offer the children an education and thus make them useful members of society. In Uganda, disabled children are not recognized by society and are therefore often marginalized by their families. In the case of deaf children and youth, we think that it is very difficult to communicate with them. The most basic concepts are learned when one meets the children, you quickly lose any fear of not being able to communicate because the children also confront strangers with great joy and unprejudiced curiosity.

At the beginning the school counted 16 children, but the number grew rapidly in the vicinity because of lack of such schools in the area. Meanwhile, the school has more than 65 children, who are taught by 10 teachers at present. The school is bursting at the seams, despite great demand no more children can be enrolled.

Julina School for the Deaf is an elementary school like the English school system. It offers lessons from the first grade to the sixt grade (Primary one to Primary six). In addition to the usual school lessons, the older children and adolescents get also practical vocational instruction. This offer includes craft-oriented courses, such as sewing, knitting, carpentry or hairdressing. In addition, the school provides computer classes. Julina School for the Deaf offers these young people a solid education combined with practical training so that they, too, despite their disability can achieve a good basis for an almost normal life.

In the long term the school shall be enlarged, we plan to build a new primary and secondary school. So far there is only one secondary school for the deaf in the whole of Uganda and this is far away.

We have already been able to acquire on favorable terms a piece of land on which we shall build a new school with larger classrooms, kitchen, refectory, dormitories and sanitary facilities and sports ground. To achieve these objective we urgently need your support. Any donation is welcome. We also need your help to support children from very poor families by providing the children school fees, food and school supplies.
/

JULINA MEMORIAL SCHOOL FOR THE DEAF in ASL (american sign language)

Julina asl memorial asl school asl for the asl deaf asl
Audio-Seite vorlesen nicht nur für Menschen mit Sehschwächen:
Deutsch: Deutsch
English: English
Julina Memorial School for the Deaf
Im Jahr 2005 gründete Father John-Paul Jjumba, der Hausgeistliche des Katholisch-Sozialen Instituts in Bad Honnef, in seinem ehemaligen Elternhaus eine Gehörlosenschule im Andenken an seine verstorbene Mutter Juliet Nakiyingi.

Die Schule ist für alle gehörlosen Kinder offen, unabhängig von Weltanschauung und Religion.

Das Ziel von Father John-Paul ist es, mit seiner Schule den Kindern eine Ausbildung zu ermöglichen und sie somit zu nützlichen Mitgliedern der Gesellschaft zu machen. In Uganda sind behinderte Kinder von der Gesellschaft nicht anerkannt und werden daher häufig auch von ihren Familien ausgegrenzt. Im Falle der gehörlosen Kinder und Jugendlichen kommt hinzu, dass es sehr schwierig ist, mit ihnen zu kommunizieren, zumindest denkt man das. Die einfachsten Grundbegriffe lernt man im Umgang mit den Kinder jedoch schnell und man verliert auch rasch jede Scheu, weil die Kinder auch Fremden mit großer Freude und unvoreingenommener Neugierde entgegentreten.

Zu Beginn zählte die Schule 16 Kinder, wuchs aber rasch, da es in der nahen Umgebung keine vergleichbare Einrichtung gibt. Mittlerweile zählt die Schule über 65 Kinder, die von derzeit 10 Lehrern unterrichtet werden. Die Schule platzt aus allen Nähten, daher können trotz großer Nachfrage keine weiteren Kinder aufgenommen werden.

Die Julina Schule ist eine Grundschule nach dem englischen Schulsystem. Es wird Unterricht von der ersten bis zur sechsten Klasse erteilt. Neben dem üblichen Schulunterricht erhalten die älteren Kinder und Jugendlichen auch berufspraktischen Unterricht. Das Angebot umfasst handwerklich orientierte Kurse, wie Nähen, Stricken, Schreinern oder das Friseurhandwerk. Zudem bietet die Schule Computerkurse an. Die Julina Schule bietet diesen jungen Menschen eine fundierte Bildung verbunden mit praktischer Ausbildung, so dass auch sie trotz ihrer Behinderung eine gute Basis für ein fast normales Leben haben.

Langfristig soll die Julina Schule vergrößert werden. Zu der jetzigen Primary School soll noch ein Sekundarzweig aufgebaut werden. Bislang gibt es in ganz Uganda nur eine weiterführende Schule für taubstumme Jugendliche und diese ist weit entfernt.

Es konnte bereits zu günstigen Konditionen ein Stück Land erworben werden, auf dem später ein größeres Schulgebäude mit Küche, Mensa, Schlafräumen und sanitären Einrichtungen entstehen soll. Um das Ziel des dringend erforderlichen Schulneubaus langfristig verwirklichen zu können, ist jede Spende willkommen. Gerne können auch Patenschaften für Kinder aus besonders bedürftigen Familien übernommen werden, um für Schulgeld, Verpflegung und Schulmaterial zu sorgen.
/